21 December, 2017

Current Cabinet Ministers of India

Follow Us

Cabinet Ministers

According to the Indian constitution, the prime minister of India is appointed by the president after the election result of the Lok Sabha (Lower house of the parliament) and all council of ministers are appointed by the president with the advice of the prime minister.

To become the prime minister, one has to be a member of the parliament (Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha) and must have 272 or more votes in his favor in Lok Sabha. The term period for prime minister is 5 years for further continuation, the political party has to won again with a clear majority.

There is no limit on how many times a person can be the Prime Minister. The prime minister is the chairperson of the cabinet. The cabinet ministers, deputy ministers, ministers of state with independent charge, ministers of state working with the cabinet ministers and other ministers are assisted by the prime minister.

Union Council of Ministers

0 Prime Minister and also in-charge of:
Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions,
Department of Atomic Energy,
Department of Space,
All important policy issues, and
All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.
Shri Narendra Modi
1 Home AffairsRaj Nath Singh
2 External AffairsSushma Swaraj
3 Finance Corporate AffairsArun Jaitley
4 Road Transport and Highways, Shipping Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Nitin Jairam Gadkari
5 Commerce and Industry Suresh Prabhu
6 Statistics and Programme Implementation D V Sadananda Gowda
7 Drinking Water and Sanitation Uma Bharati
8 Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution Ramvilas Paswan
9 Women and Child Development Maneka Sanjay Gandhi
10 Chemicals and Fertilizers, Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar
11 Law and Justice Electronics and Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad
12 Health and Family Welfare Jagat Prakash Nadda
13 Civil Aviation Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati
14 Heavy Industries, Public Enterprises Anant Geete
15 Food Processing Industries Harsimrat Kaur Badal
16 Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Mines Narendra Singh Tomar
17 Steel Chaudhary Birender Singh
18 Tribal Affairs Jual Oram
19 Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Radha Mohan Singh
20 Social Justice and Empowerment Thaawar Chand Gehlot
21 Textiles, Information and Broadcasting Smriti Zubin Irani
22 Science and Technology, Earth Sciences, Environment, Forest, Climate Change Dr. Harsh Vardhan
23 Human Resource Development Prakash Javadekar
24 Petroleum and Natural Gas, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Dharmendra Pradhan
25 Railways, Coal Piyush Goyal
26 Defence Nirmala Sitharaman
27 Minority Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

1Planning, Chemicals and Fertilizers Rao Inderjit Singh
2Labour and Employment Santosh Kumar Gangwar
3Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH) Shripad Yesso Naik
4Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), Prime Minister's Office, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space Dr. Jitendra Singh
5Culture, Environment, Forest and Climate Change Dr. Mahesh Sharma
6Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Giriraj Singh
7Communications, Railways Manoj Sinha
8Youth Affairs and Sports, Information and Broadcasting Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore
9Power and New and Renewable Energy Shri Raj Kumar Singh
10Housing, Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri
11Tourism, Electronics and Information Technology Alphons Kannanthanam

Ministers of State

1Parliamentary Affairs, Statistics, Programme Implementation Vijay Goel
2Finance, Shipping Radhakrishnan P
3Drinking Water and Sanitation S. S. Ahluwalia
4Drinking Water and Sanitation Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi
5Social Justice and Empowerment Ramdas Athawale
6Steel Vishnu Deo Sai
7Rural Development Ram Kripal Yadav
8Home Affairs Hansraj Gangaram Ahir
9Mines and Coal Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary
10Railways Rajen Gohain
11External Affairs General (Retd ) V K Singh
12Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Panchayati Raj Parshottam Rupala
13Social Justice and Empowerment Krishan Pal
14Tribal Affairs Jaswantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor
15Finance Shiv Pratap Shukla
16Health and Family Welfare Ashwini Kumar Choubey
17Tribal Affairs Sudarshan Bhagat
18Human Resource Development Upendra Kushwaha
19Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju
20Women and Child Development, Minority Affairs Dr. Virendra Kumar
21Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Anantkumar Hegde
22External Affairs M. J. Akbar
23Food Processing Industries Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
24Science and Technology, Earth SciencesY. S. Chowdary
25Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha
26Heavy Industries, Public Enterprises Babul Supriyo
27Social Justice and Empowerment Vijay Sampla
28Parliamentary Affairs, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Arjun Ram Meghwal
29Textiles Ajay Tamta
30Agriculture, Farmers Welfare Krishna Raj
31Road Transport, Highways, Shipping Chemicals and Fertilizers Mansukh L Mandaviya
32Health and Family Welfare Anupriya Patel
33Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Commerce and Industry C. R. Chaudhary
34Law and Justice, Corporate Affairs P. P. Chaudhary
35Defence Subhash Ramrao Bhamre
36Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
37Human Resource Development, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Dr. Satya Pal Singh
Last Updated on : December 21, 2017

Check Your Score

Rajashekar KankanalaRajashekarKankanala
Tuts Raja
NTR Colony

Tags: Aptitude, Reasoning, Static GK, Computer Knowledge, English Language, Preparation Tips

Share post»

Join Our Free Newsletter
Author Image

About Author:

I'm Rajashekar, founder of Discovertutorials.com website. I love blogging and interested to share my knowledge on this platform with a course.

View: My Profile

Copyright@Discover Tutorials 2018. All Rights Reserved.